With more than half a month into the new year, I started thinking about new year resolutions, or my lack of them in particular. Every new year, I come across tons of news, blog posts about everyone’s new year resolutions. But I never had one. Not ‘coz I have a case of Calvinitis, as below

Calvin & Hobbes - New Year

I’ve had goals & made sure that I achieved those, so it also wasn’t a fear of not following through. But just that most of the blog posts referred to the lack of those resolutions being followed through till the end of the year or till the time the goal was achieved. So this year, I’m going to make one.

My goal sometime back was to break into the 3 digit weight group. You see I’ve always been underweight for a 5′ 7″ person. I achieved my goal, but I think I fell back into the 2 digit group, but I’m not sure since I never checked my weight again (psst.. in the past 5 months), just for the fear of having lost my advantage. So this year I’m going to move away from the number based system, & move towards the broader goal of being healthy. So how do I define ‘healthy’? Hmmm…

Healthy:

  • A BMI of 18.5 atleast
  • Cut down red meat intake to minimum
  • Some sort of exercise routine

This’ll make sure I don’t get my butt kicked when we go for hikes. And also make myself useful when we’ve to move heavy furniture. I’m completely useless when it comes to lifting even moderately heavy Ikea furniture. But all that comes to end this year 😀 And what is a healthy resolution without a buddy. So my buddy this year is going to be L. But his resolution is a bit different than mine. He’s also aiming to be healthy, with a BMI is the 18-20 range. But he’s going to hit that range by losing weight. So the means of achieving our goal will essentially remain the same. Eat healthy & exercise. Just the food groups that’ll be a part of our meal will be a little bit different. And to make sure that we are on the right path, we are going to blog about it.

So here’s to a fruitful 2011….

Cheers \m/

